ily
2 min readOct 25, 2021

"Shall we play with fire?"

You said you needed spark, you needed this to catch fire again. and not only did i give it time, i even handed you the match, struck it for you until i let it burn us over and over.

But tonight, the stool next to me remains empty, and the music playing in this place sounds like a mockery. The bartender’s eyes are fixated on me with unfounded sympathy that i almost say to him out loud “No, no, i don’t need your pity.”

It’s another drop of water to both kill time and dilute the whiskey; i ask myself, is our love like this? I thought giving you my love would enhance it when all it does is thinning out yours until it doesn’t carry taste. Not anymore.

This is no longer sweet, this is not quite bitter.

You said all we needed was fire, and i drowned us in water.

then when the whiskey drops, you come in with a cut on your face, in the corners of your cheeks, on your cheekbones. I just smile.

"why did you come back?"

"isn’t this how it should be?"

"don’t play with fire anymore or we can’t get out of there"

"just need to drown in water, don’t you think?"

I just nodded, I got up to see his eyes that looked relieved there. as well as me.

I touched the wound on the corner of his mouth, gently rubbing it.

"Why is it bleeding?"

"Just a little hit to wake me up?"

"God damn, you’re fighting again?"

"Tell someone else to beat me to make me realize I have to go back to you?"

"You’re crazy"

"Yes im."

I hugged him, no matter how some people looked at us strangely. only did what it was supposed to after there was a small spark between us.

I kissed his lips, making him wince for a moment because of the sore on his lips that hurt.

"It hurts?"

"Just do it, i’ll be fine"

then we kissed each other, staring at him intently to make sure no more fires were burning there.

"Shall we play with fire?" he ended our kiss, asked with a smirk on his face.

"Just make sure we don’t get burned alive."

after paying the bill to the bartender, sipped the rest of the whiskey. we go home together, he says we will play with fire tonight. fine, i will kiss him first and i don’t know what he’s going to do next.